Home > Federal, Liberals > Ignore EI, Don’t Mind Us. Sorry If We Caused A Fuss

Ignore EI, Don’t Mind Us. Sorry If We Caused A Fuss

August 27, 2009

Well, what do you know. After making noises, threats, and deals in regards to the EI, it looks like the issue isn’t really important enough to bring down the Harper Government anyway.

But really, can’t you blame Liberal strategists for not wanting an election based on EI? After all, doing so would be quite the boon to the New Democrat and Bloc Québécois. Those two parties would be able to say during the campaign: “The Conservatives won’t fix the EI system. The Liberals made the EI system what it is today, broken.”

If I were a Liberal strategist, and I had the ability to chose when to trigger an election, I wouldn’t start it giving my opposition plenty of ammo. No, I’d start it at a press conference with an empty lot being the background…

Categories: Federal, Liberals
