Home > Conservatives, Federal, Liberals, NDP > Have We Shackled Ourselves To A Corpse?

Have We Shackled Ourselves To A Corpse?

December 4, 2008

I know there is supposed to be a new spirit of cooperation between the New Democrats and Liberals, what, with this coalition and at, but I got to say, I’m getting a little concerned about our new partner, specifically, with their willingness to promote this new (theoretically) mutually beneficial coalition.

It’s like the Liberals are doing the minimal amount of work possible to sell this coalition to the public. All I’ve really seen them do is send a few e-mails on their public e-mail list serve. Meanwhile, the New Democratic Party and its allies have been working non-stop, organizing pro-coalition rallies and promoting them.

Heck, the Liberals can’t even film a proper televised address and get it to the networks ON TIME.

Even the Liberals representatives online don’t seem to be doing too much to promote this (Please note I’m not talking individual bloggers here). Progressive Bloggers and New Democrats Online have been promoting pro-coalition rallies right on their front pages. The Blogging Tories have been promoting anti-coalition rallies right on their front page. Liblogs? A blog post from Jason Cherniak and a pretty hard to read “Another Liberal Supporting a Coalition for Canada” that doesn’t even link anywhere useful.

Okay, maybe I’m missing things here and I’m talking out of turn. Feel free to correct me. But as it stands in my view at the time of writing, the Liberals need to buck up and do their share of the work to support the coaltion from their end.

Update (12/04/2008 2:25pm): Wow, that’s one big “Another Liberal Supporting a Coalition for Canada” on Liblogs now. Now it’s readable.

Update (12/05/2008 7:46am): It’s back to being small and unreadable again. I just have to shake my head

  1. December 4, 2008 at 5:05 am

    I agree with you, although to be fair the official party apparatus has been functioning in a kind of half-assed manner since before the election.

  2. David
    December 4, 2008 at 5:09 am

    Well, I don’t know that they’re not doing enough so much as aren’t organized. This is being magnified by a lack of message coordination between the opposition parties. But let’s be fair here, the NDP hasn’t been all that organized either, which is magnified by the fact that we’ve barely outraised the Liberals in the last year. I don’t want to be a concern troll but if parliament is prorogued we’re screwed, unless we raise more money. The NDP and Liberals needs to revamp their fund raising skills, the fact that they haven’t shows a real lack of organization in a structural sense. If I had to mark the PR games of both parties, I’d give the NDP a C/C+ and the Liberals a C-, but either way a lot of room for improvement.

    As for Dion’s address, yeah it was problematic, from a presentation point of view. But the substance was an above average effort from him. Look, he is what he is – well meaning, but not ideal. Honestly, I think it would’ve made more sense to say have Layton lead the coalition until the Liberals choose their leader. But I suppose there isn’t much that can be done about that now, other than highlight the other members of the coalition team and encourage Dion to take Harper on in the House in French – where he’s a lot stronger and a lot less screechy.

  3. Gene
    December 4, 2008 at 5:39 am

    Well, actually, I have received very interesting material from the Libs that allows me to go ahead with my own mini-campaign in my neighbourhood and to discuss with friends & neighbours about the Coalition There is also a letter.

    P.S. I do agree that Dion’s presentation could have been more pleasant visually. The drab background & high chair distracted from a content that was rather substantial & moving. Pity!

  4. December 4, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Weekend at Harper’s.

  5. December 4, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    I’m sorry, Saskboy, I can’t figure out what you are getting here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
