Home > Federal > Quick Thought: The Punishment Of The Floor Crossers

Quick Thought: The Punishment Of The Floor Crossers

October 15, 2008

David Emerson, Wajid Khan, Joe Comuzzi, Garth Turner, Blair Wilson.

All crossed the floor to other parties. All are no longer MPs.

David Emerson and Joe Comuzzi retired.

Wajid Khan, Garth Turner, and Blair Wilson were defeated.

I guess this serves as a warning to MPs in the next Parliament: floor crossing is bad for your political health.

Categories: Federal
  1. Dave
    October 15, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    Blair didn’t cross the floor. The Liberals pushed him out of the party and he sat as an independent for a long time before joining the Greens.

  2. October 15, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    Oh, so if David Emerson became a Independent for a few days before joining the Conservatives, he wouldn’t be a floor crosser?

    Nope, don’t buy it. Blair was a floor crosser (or did the Greens win that riding in the 2006 election? Nope didn’t think so.)

  3. October 17, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    Blatant and opportunistic floor-crossing seems to be punished by voters in this country — finally!

    I agree that this should serve as a valuable lesson to anyone who thinks they can bypass the democratic process.

  4. Patrick Manning
    November 27, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    wajid khan.. was so dumb.. he shouldve seeked a by election and possibly couldve won.. but check this that bonnie crombie bitch really hurt him in that election.. but he did stupidly.. as he knew it was a minority parliment but took it for a few extra bucks as a assistant to harper

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
%d bloggers like this: