Home > Conservatives, Federal, Liberals, NDP > A Revolutionary Thought On Voting

A Revolutionary Thought On Voting

October 13, 2008

I figure, with all these encouragements for strategic voting on the blogosphere, I might as will get into the act of giving voting advice.

Therefore, my advice is this:

Vote for the political party/candidate you believe in!

Radical, huh?

But actually, my advice works so well with our system. I mean, just look at our ballot! Notice how you vote for a political party, not against one. I mean, who would have thought. Every vote for a political party also means that they get more money for the next election.

The party I believe in is the New Democratic Party. How come? I think that they are the best party to manage the economy, protecting jobs, while balancing the needs of the middle class, business, and environment.

I don’t support the Conservatives because they, for the most part, have their heads in the sand, saying the economy is fine and Canadians should invest in the stock market while well-paying jobs are lost.

I don’t support the Liberals, because they would tax the middle class, cut taxes for the rich, but not get around to implementing programs that would benefit the middle class (and the rest of the country) until later (2 years? 4 years? 13 years?).

But those are my reasons for voting the way I want to.

You, on the other hand, will have totally different reasons for voting the way you do. Vote the way you want, and don’t try to vote differently because somebody is trying to game the system by using fear or whatever.

  1. JC Kelan
    October 13, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    Strategic voting should have an entirely different meaning in elections now with the new financing laws. Where each party gets annual funding from the federal government based on the number of votes cast in the last election, every vote counts.

    By accumulating votes, even in ridings where there is no hope of winning, Green Party and NDP supporters can ensure the future institutional capacity of their party to launch future elections and maintain a national standing and presence.

    By accumulating only 1000 votes in every riding, the party would receive funding of more than $300,000 per year. This is substantial and could mean future success.

    Strategic voting for the NDP and Greens means looking to the long term … not just this election.

  2. A non-emu's opinion
    October 15, 2008 at 12:36 am

    Hey, what if the party I believe in is anybody aside from the conservative party, is it okay if I vote strategically then, mom?

    I mean, sure, if you believe that your party getting seats is better than any other result, vote for your party. But don’t tell me that I shouldn’t believe that some party NOT getting seats isn’t equally valid a position to vote for.

    To be perfectly honest, anybody who spews the crap of “I believe you should vote any way you want,” and then continues it with “so don’t vote in a certain way” is a collasal hypocrite.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
