Home > Conservatives, Federal, Liberals > A Corruption Election?

A Corruption Election?

April 21, 2008

So, the Conservatives have allegedly been stretching the election rules, allowing them to spend $1.1 million more than allowed.

So much for a more accountable government!

But at the same time, I don’t really think that the Liberals can really seize this issue in any election. I mean, after all, it wasn’t that long ago since the sponsorship scandal.

I’d hate to try to assign a better/worse value to corruption here, but I wonder which is worse? The Conservatives breaking the rules to spend more of their own party money, or the Liberals breaking the rules to funnel state money to party coffers?

I must say, I’m disappointed and tired of the few politicians that are corrupt, giving the rest of the politicians and the political system a bad name. The question is, would another political party besides the Liberals and Conservatives be any better.

I’m sorry to say that I doubt it.

  1. April 22, 2008 at 4:36 am

    A multiparty government might well, though. It’s hard to be corrupted absolutely when power isn’t absolute.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
