Home > Conservatives, Federal, Liberals, NDP > Closing Some Loopholes

Closing Some Loopholes

May 8, 2007

It looks like the Tories are introducing legislation to limit the giving of loans to political institutions to financial institutions.

This removes a loophole in which somebody could give a loan to a candidate, and then forgive the loan later, thus avoiding the $1000 limit.

I’ll predict that the NDP will be happy with this move, given recent press releases.

But I wonder what the reaction of the Liberals will be?

  1. janfromthebruce
    May 8, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    That’s good. This way there is a more equal footing for all candidates and political parties.

  2. May 8, 2007 at 2:32 pm

    ..conveniently you didnt seem to bother to mention this from your story:

    But the Tories were not inclined to discuss who “owns” Prime Minister Stephen Harper, who has never fully disclosed the donors to his 2002 campaign for the leadership of the Canadian Alliance, predecessor to the Conservative party.

    Harper disclosed only 54 donors who’d contributed more than $1,075 each to his campaign. He never revealed the names of 10 large donors who wanted to remain anonymous or the more than 9,000 donors who gave less than $1,000.

    Dion said Liberals have no lessons to learn from Harper about transparency and accountability. He noted that all donations and loans to Liberal leadership contestants were disclosed publicly and urged Harper to come equally clean on his own leadership financing.

    “It’s completely secret,” Dion said of Harper’s 2002 donations.

    Seriously.. do you NDP folks think the Liberals are bigger enemies of yours then the Conservatives? That’s the impression I’m getting.

  3. Northern BC Dipper
    May 8, 2007 at 2:40 pm

    Scott,

    Why should I mention it? It has nothing to do with the new legislation, I’m not going to repeat an entire article, and to be honest, it was filler anyway.

    I don’t get why you keep on asking me to write stuff that supports your opinions and party when this is my blog. It’s getting tiresome.

  4. May 8, 2007 at 2:49 pm

    Scott Tribe labours under the delusion that the Liberals and Tories are somehow any different from each other. Plus, he gets forgets that this isn’t Progressive Bloggers, where he can enforce his pro-Liberal bias.

  5. May 8, 2007 at 2:59 pm

    Seriously.. do you NDP folks think the Liberals are bigger enemies of yours then the Conservatives? That’s the impression I’m getting.

    I can’t speak for NBCD, but personally, yes. Perhaps it is a function of the fact that I was born in 1985, so from the time I was old enough to know what an election is the country has been governed by Liberals (save, of course, the last year or so.) So, in my experience, every bad thing that I’ve ever seen the federal government do was done by the Liberals. I echo thickslab’s sentiments there really isn’t a whole lot of substantive difference between the Liberals and the Tories. The biggest difference, in my opion, is that the Conservatives are at least honest about where they stand. The Libs are fundamentally a right-of-centre neoliberal party. While they have a lot of great, progressive supporters, I feel that those people are being mislead by Liberals MP’s who have conistently driven the party further and further to the right.

    That’s my two cents, anyway.

  6. May 8, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    Thickslab, with all due respect, you’re a fool if you think I try to enforce a “pro-Liberal bias” at Progressive Bloggers. When I converted to the Liberals, I started up my own blog to allow myself to comment on matters so I wouldnt be accused of using Prog Blog to further my views. I do administrative functions there.. and all new affiliates who are approved and all decisions made have to be approved by the majority of moderators – where only 2 of the 7 are Liberal supporters.

    If you’d bother to read my site, you can count on 1 hand the number of times I’ve criticized the NDP. I believe the Liberals waste far too much time attacking them when they should be attacking the Conservatives.

    As for Devin.. the Tories more honest? You’re saying that statement now, when your own party is criticizing Blackburn for hiding 150 000$ in travel expense money? That is the party of honesty who wants to piously cut off loans?

    As for NBC Dipper.. I didnt realize you wanted an echo chamber here.

  7. Anonymous
    May 8, 2007 at 3:21 pm

    Well, get busy NDP and win an election already. But you won’t do it hissing at Liberals all the time, that’s for sure.

    Frankly, I don’t listen to the NDP anymore…waste of time.

  8. Northern BC Dipper
    May 8, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    Scott,

    I don’t want an echo chamber, but I also am getting tired of your continuous “Harper is Satan, all non-conservatives must follow the Liberals to stop him” line that you have been spewing ever since you converted to the Liberal Party, especially since I’ve told you time and time again that there is no way in heck that I am going to support either the Conservatives or the Liberals. That’s why I’m in the NDP.

    As for Dion comment that you think is oh-so-important, I’d say that the only reason why the Liberal leadership race has all of its financial statements is because the law required them to do so. Sure, Dion can say “oh Harper didn’t report all expenses for the leadership campaign”, but really, what about Martin’s expense? Chrétien’s expenses? Turner’s expense? Heck, even Layton’s and McDonough’s expenses. The fact is, we need laws that ensure that all elections conducted are fair. I happen to think that this Conservative bill will help do that.

    Anonymous,

    Frankly, I don’t listen to the NDP anymore…waste of time.

    Then why are you wasting your valuable time on my blog? Don’t you have oh-so-important things to do?

  9. Anonymous
    May 8, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    Are you the NDP? I like your blog; I was just commenting generally.

  10. Northern BC Dipper
    May 8, 2007 at 4:19 pm

    Anonymous,

    Good point.

    Everybody,

    I was in a bit of a snarky mood at the time (real-life things), so I should apologize for that.

  11. May 8, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    As for Devin.. the Tories more honest? You’re saying that statement now, when your own party is criticizing Blackburn for hiding 150 000$ in travel expense money? That is the party of honesty who wants to piously cut off loans?

    I don’t think that the Conservatives are more honest than the Liberals; given their experiences in government I’ve found them both dishonest; I just thing that they are more honest about where they stand. My point is that the Conservatives are up-front about the fact that they are a right-of-centre party, whereas the Liberals try to maintain the image of being left-of-centre while implementing right-of-centre policies. At least with the Cons, voters know what they are getting and what they’re voting for. It’ll be stupid and terrible, but they’ll know what they’re getting. With the Libs, all people get is false hope and broken promises. At least, that’s been my experience.

  12. Anonymous
    May 9, 2007 at 4:11 am

    All politics is dishonest…the nature of power depends on it The NDP for example really has to play down the anti-business establishment, anti-capitalist thrust of its economic policies. The Liberals are dishonest but in my experience, easily shamed into telling the truth.

    The Conservatives are bald-faced liars. Check out Gord Brown’s recent fraud.

  1. May 10, 2007 at 3:43 pm
Comments are closed.
