Home > Blogosphere > On Hiatus

On Hiatus

March 19, 2007

Just to let my readers know, I will be going on a month (or so) long hiatus with this blog.

There are a few reasons why I have decided to do so:

  1. The last two weeks. They have been rather vicious, starting with Cherinak’s attack on the Blogging Dippers and going downhill from there.
  2. I’m starting to get the feeling that what I want to say is being restricted by various individuals, and I believe what I am saying is within reason and fair.
  3. I have not really wrote anything note-worthy as of late, and probably need to rest and think a little while.
  4. I have various other obligations to attend to.

Hopefully, the Blogging Dippers administrator elections shall go well. I will probably be around commenting on the BDVS and on various blogs.

Categories: Blogosphere
  1. janfromthebruce
    March 19, 2007 at 9:11 am

    Hi Norther BC dipper, I have enjoyed your posts and all the work you put forth for the dippers. I do hope that after your rest, you come back in full force and think that you can say what you want. See you around.

  2. thejf
    March 19, 2007 at 10:15 am

    Take care of yourself man. I’ll be waiting patiently for when you decide to post again.

  3. March 19, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    Sometimes you need to just rise above all the bullshit and clear your head. I hope that you will be back online soon. I think that you are a tremendous talent.

  4. March 19, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    Hey Northern BC Dipper,

    Sometimes a break is good. While you take your break remember a few things:

    Cherinak is acting like an idiot lately, and just a little over the top. When he comes back down, he’ll have to either apologize or lay low. Given he’ll probably won’t apologize, he’ll probably lay low. You will at least have the satisfaction of not stooping to his level by taking this break, and preserving the integrity of the Dippers like yourself.

    I found I reached a point that some of the ideas I had about how to run the country ran against the party I supported. I also found some of the ideas I had ran against the atmosphere of the Progressive Bloggers, so it was helpful to have another site to post my partisan stuff, and another one for my moderate stuff. It was liberating in the sense I no longer felt restrained by what I could and could not say. I recommend it if worse comes to worse.

    I have a hard time believing that you aren’t posting anything noteworthy. Everything you post from the time you started this blog has been a joy to read, and has made me think. Not many blogs can do that. That’s why you are starting to attract your following in the blogsphere.

    The other obligations.. well, that is kind of hard to argue against, isn’t it? It’s those same obligations that are keeping me from posting as much as I want to.

    All in all, I’m sure when you come back you’ll have your ‘groove/funk/whatever’ on and things will be better after this period. Besides, an election might be around the corner, and I am sure you’ll have something to say on that.

    Take care NBCD.

    Shawn

  5. April 2, 2007 at 6:39 am

    One of the things I’ve found, about political discussions, is that they are very vicious and draining. It’s easiest to do if you leave your ego at the door, so to speak, as there is no end of insult that will be offered if you dare to have your own opinion.

    Sadly, the most vicious people are those that most badly need to have their eyes opened and their brains turned on. They’ll simply quote political talking points from various media sources and show very little understanding of the issues involved.

    However, talking about the actual issues, the complexities of issues, or the realities of issues in juxtaposition with silly talking points can really help some people figure out what the political landscape is really like. These are the people that actually benefit from reasoned blogs, but unfortunately they don’t seem to comment very often.

    Good luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
