Home > Federal, Liberals > Rare Viewing Of Actual Liberal Policy

Rare Viewing Of Actual Liberal Policy

March 8, 2007

Wow, the Liberals have actually unveiled a new policy position today: reduce income and business taxes.

Of course the Liberals lose points for originality, but I guess it’s something. Maybe they won’t flip-flop on this position this time.

However, in a competition between the Liberals and Conservatives on tax-cutting, the Conservatives will win: they have the reputation and control of the purse strings. The Liberals have a long way to go policy wise before they can win the next election.

What do I think of all this? Well, I’d have to see more details before I can really make a judgment; however the cynical side of me suspects that these tax cuts would benefit the rich at the expense of the middle class.

Categories: Federal, Liberals
  1. March 8, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    Are you joking? Who do you think pulled this country around from its massive debt after Mulroney and the gang were swept from power? It certainly wasn’t the Conservatives. That’s laughable.

  2. March 8, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    That’s true, but in this case, perception = reality.

    And considering that Martin, to a lesser extent, and Dion, to a great extent, having been running from the Liberal legacy of the ’90s, it’s quite easy for the Conservatives, who love to talk about tax cuts and have been doing so for a long time, to win this perception war.

  3. March 8, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    I wouldn’t buy it for a second. I don’t think you are going to sell a lot of Canadians on the usefullness to their own personal lives of army tanks, and jails as opposed to health care, child care, or education. Besides their ridiculous tax cut plan actually increased taxes on the poorest Canadians. I don’t think they have a track record at all and the one they do have is pretty pitiful so far and full of big holes.

  4. March 8, 2007 at 1:47 pm

    We know that their tax cut plan raised taxes on the poorest Canadians, but do Canadians know this? I suspect that they are reminded of the fact that GST went down a lot more often (when they buy stuff), then any income tax cut (seen only once a year).

  5. March 8, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    I can honestly say I did not notice that 1 cent GST tax cut off my purchases at the till at all. Now maybe if I had had bought a car this year I might have noticed. But I am betting if a poll were done most Canadians would say they did not really notice a difference in their out of pocket costs from the cut unless they bought a really big ticket item (e.g house).

  6. rob
    March 8, 2007 at 2:10 pm

    Have the other parties been releasing more policy than the Liberals?

  7. March 8, 2007 at 2:19 pm

    Rob,

    I’d say that the other parties are more consistent with their policy than the Liberals have. I know where the other parties stand.

    I’d say that I’ve seen more from the other parties.

  8. March 8, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    Didn’t he say personal income tax cut? That cut is reflected in your paycheck each month.

  9. Northern BC Dipper
    March 8, 2007 at 4:34 pm

    So 12 times a year vs. many purchases.

    Again, the key here is the perception war. The Conservatives talk a lot about reducing taxes. The Liberals, not so much. I’d say that the average Canadian would think that the Conservatives are more apt at tax cutting then the Liberals.

    I’d almost pin it down to the fact that the name of the party is “Conservative”. Just like the Greens get a free ride on environmental issues because the name is the “Green” Party.

    P.S: Is it “Woman At Mille 0” or “Woman At Mile 0”? You may want to check your comment name.

  10. March 8, 2007 at 8:47 pm

    Thanks for the heads up on the error. I still think your wrong though on the perception. Maybe somone who has been paying attention to politics for only one year (since the Tories got in) might think this but everyone else knows about the Liberals record of fiscal responsibility and management. That’s really one of the main reasons why they were in power so long.

  11. Northern BC Dipper
    March 8, 2007 at 9:02 pm

    Ah, but I’ve only been blogging for less than one year.

    I’ve payed attention to politics for many years.

    But really, we just have to see how things play out.

    EDIT: Wait a minute…

    Are we talking about two different things here?

    I was talking about the public’s perception of the Liberals at “tax-cutting”.
    Were you talking about the public’s perception of the Liberals at “fiscal responsibility”?

    If so, then while tax-cutting can be tied to fiscal responsibility, we would be talking about two different ball-games.

    If that is the case, then yeah, the Liberals do have a perception advantage regarding “fiscal responsibility”.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
