Home > Blogosphere > Time For A Multi-Partisan Grand Unified Canadian Political Blog Aggregator?

Time For A Multi-Partisan Grand Unified Canadian Political Blog Aggregator?

August 29, 2006

I saw an interesting idea from Suzanne of BIG BLUE WAVE, a blog on the, shall I say, right side of the political spectrum. The idea is this: having all of the Canadian Political Blogrolls on a single page so that one could check all of the political blogs on all sides of the spectrum in one fell swoop.

However, there were legal/moral issues to doing this, expressed by Robert McClelland, administrator of Blogging Dippers, BC Blogs, and Ontario Blogs. A blogroll is a community of blogs where the bloggers have voluntarily decided to join; therefore, having one’s blog appear on another blogroll involuntarily would have been a violation of that blogger’s right to decide which blogroll he/she would like to participate in.

Even with the above in consideration, I still think that a Unified Multi-Partisan Blogroll is a great idea (I guess the Canadian Blog Exchange counts, but I personally find it kind of limited). The key here is, its implementation has to be done in a certain way:

  • The host website needs to be neutral. I’m not sure if I’d want the Unified Blogroll on a right-wing site, or if a right-winger would want it hosted on, say, My Blahg.
  • All of the administrators of the blogrolls need to be on board.
  • All present bloggers on the blogrolls would have to agree to having their post appear on the Unified Blogroll. I suppose all future bloggers could be informed that if they join Blogroll X, that they will appear on the Unified Blogroll.

I believe that a Unified Blogroll would be an excellent way to improve the sharing of thoughts along partisan lines. Any thoughts on this subject?

How would A Unified Blogroll Look Like?

I could see something similar to this (pathetic) example picture here. Posts would be ordered by time sent, and if possible, I’d like to see posts colour-coded depending on which blogroll it came from. Links to the blogrolls would be provided (in alphabetical order).

Categories: Blogosphere
  1. SUZANNE
    August 29, 2006 at 11:08 pm

    I thank you for taking up the idea.

  2. Northern BC Dipper
    August 30, 2006 at 1:25 am

    I not sure if I’m taking up the idea, as I really don’t know how to do the website coding or have any server space, but I’m trying to spread it to those who might.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
